Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


bandcouch

Members of Kasador. [Left to right] Nick Babcock (Piano/Synth/Vox), Will Hunter (Vox/Guitar), Boris Baker (Bass), Angus Fay (Drums), Cameron Wyatt (Guitar/Vox)

Kasador will be playing at this year’s Ottawa Dragon Boat Festival free concert series this Saturday.
Opening up for Half Moon Run and Darcys.
I got to ask Will Hunter who is guitarist/vocalist of the band for some questions.

1. You are playing this Saturday at the Ottawa Dragon Boat Festival, how excited to be opening up for the likes of Half Moon Run and Darcys?
We are so excited to be playing with these bands! I saw HMR play at The Grad Club (very small campus bar) in Kingston in 2013 and was totally blown away. Just the energy combine with intricate musical sections brought such a good vibe to the room. We played with the Darcys in 2014 and have been following them since. Really like their new sound!
2. For those not familiar with Kasador, how did the band get started?
I went to Queen’s in 2010 to start a band. Sure I told people I was there for school, but I’m sure even my parents knew what I was up to. I started hanging around the ‘Queen’s Music Club’ scouting musicians and posting ads on Facebook looking for bass players and drummers/calling bars asking if they needed an acoustic opener for shows. Eventually we had a good lineup of musicians with songs that people were proud of and we’ve been playing shows ever since.
3. Where is the band residing? I read Kingston and Ottawa.
The band is based out of Kingston, thats where our roots are and where we practice/write for the most part. Since we started in University we came from all over the province – I like to think we have 4 hometowns: Cam is from Ottawa, Julz is from Sudbury, I am from Toronto and Nick & Boris are from Kingston.
4. So far you released your debut EP and read that it was recorded at The Hip’s recording studio, how was that like?
The really cool part about The Bathouse is that you live there while you work, so its a very immersive process. You do things like wake up and have breakfast listening to what you worked on last night. I also love working there because so many artists we look up to have worked there – in fact HMR did their album ‘Sun Leads Me On’ at The Bathouse.
5. What is coming up later in 2017 and beyond?
After Dragon Boat we have a few more festivals and one or two club shows but for the most part we are working on new songs and hoping to have a few of them out before the end of the year. Really excited with what we have been working on – it has been way more of a collaboration across all band members then anything we have done in the past and I think that our styles are really meshing well to create a unique sound.

